THE BLUE PARCHMENT

“So many times I woke up during the night, because I could not sleep anymore.

I was feeling as if my heart was about to explode in my chest, every time your arm was brushing against me, by accident.

And I was staying still. Motionless. Longing that casual gesture could have been frozen for eternity.

Then you changed position again and I returned feeling cold, praying that you could touch me again and I could feel newly alive.

I don’t remember the exact moment in which your eyes filled the emptiness of my existence.

Ah, the existence, Xena…before knowing you, that emptiness was not weighting so much…

To be clear…I felt it…but in the moment our eyes met, I understood that I could not live without you, and that if I lost you, that emptiness would have become a doom.”

“Gabrielle, what are you doing?” Xena woke up. The sound of a thunder particularly strong had disturbed her sleep.

“I’m writing about you…about us…”

The warrior reached the girl, who was sitting in front of the fireplace, and she sat down next to her.

“Can I read…?”

“Of course…”

Xena took the scroll and touched Gabrielle’s hand.

Even if years have passed, even if the two women had shared moments of intimacy, Gabrielle had never stopped feeling strong emotions for her.

She was watching Xena reading her writings, getting lost in the perfect profile of the woman she loved.

She caught her smile, then the warrior turned towards her and almost hesitating, she caressed her face.

“Lend me your pen…”

Xena started writing on Gabrielle’s scroll, who was watching in disbelief, in silence.

“…what you don’t know, my sweet bard, is that each time I was touching your skin during the night, I wanted to have you on me…

…and you had never known of all those nights in which your face was so close to mine, going crazy from the will of tasting your lips and feed myself with your soul…

…I have seen you suffering and fighting for my fault and you never left me…not even when violence and pain had stolen your innocence…

…I’m not good talking about love, but you taught me to love…your gentleness, your dedication and maybe too much admiration, made me feel stronger more and more each day, because I was sure about your love…”


“There you go. I finished. Now you can continue…”

Gabrielle took the scroll back and quickly read what Xena had written, then she placed it on the table, where she had placed the ink as well.


The two women looked at each other, both without speaking a word, it was as if they had told each other everything.

Gabrielle’s eyes became lightly red and filled with tears, that she was trying to hold back.

Xena didn’t say anything, she went closer to the girl’s face, tasting the vibrations that her heart’s turmoil made exploding through her irregular breath, while the fallen tears reached her lips, that Xena wiped with hers.

A delicate kiss that Gabrielle returned with the same lightness of the sea breeze, and the same sea was reflected in the warrior’s eyes, which from the depths of that oceanic color made her soaking in a summer dream.

The same summer that they spent together in a place called, from the locals, “the land of four seasons”, but they could never know the real name of that magic island.

The moment that Xena delicately tightened her, Gabrielle was inebriated by the fresh scent exhaled by her skin.

To the warrior’s breath, the mad palpitation of her heart combined, she could not do anything else than returning the hug, joining to the only reason of her existence.

“Are you going to write about this moment as well?”

“I will write…”

Gabrielle stopped. She clashed her elbow against the small bottle of ink, which was resting near the scroll, so she quickly stopped the fall, to avoid it completely pouring on the sheet.

“Blue ink?” Gabrielle jumped.

Xena was not with her. She was gone. Months earlier.

But their souls had made love.

“Xena, where are you…? This is not enough for me…I cannot live in this way…I can’t…without you I’m lost…”

THE END

2 pensieri riguardo “THE BLUE PARCHMENT”

Lascia un commento